Quick Post

How do I unbore a bored horse?

How do I unbore a bored horse?
  • We have a horse that is taking out her boredom on being naughty. I am new to the horseworld so I feel a bit lost here. Only thing I can think of is training tricks but not sure what treats to use since she is a little on the overweight side of the scale. 

Tips please! :) 
  • Welcome. How about ear scratches instead of treats. Mine do anything for a belly or ear scratch.
  • Thank you ':)' 
    Hm.. strangely havent thought of that. She is very cuddly. She is very motivated by treats though like babycarrots so that is why I was on the thought of food rewards. I can always try it, but I dont know if it would motivate her enough or not. I know dogs and horses are very different, but I have experience in easily bored dogs and when they dont have a good enough reward its just not worth doing. ^^'
  • Is she with other horses?  If so, they usually keep each other occupied ':)'  Also, if you only ride in the arena, add some trail riding and vary her routine.  There are treat balls horses can roll to get treats out, takes time, occupies the mind more like grazing.

Tell us about her and what you do with her and how you know she is bored ':)'