Quick Post

HELP TRAINING

HELP TRAINING
  • Hi, So recently I bought my 2 horses that I've been leasing for 3 years(well kind've leasing hard to explain) But anyway One I have been training her name Is Wolfe and she is an Arabian, But there is one problem... She doesn't canter or gallop, All she does is walk and rarely trot unless I really kick her and get her going.... Can anyone help me with training her to trot, I'm thinking of getting spurs, She also rides in a bit( that is if I can get it in) OtherWise her halter... PLEASE help! Thanks!
  • The arab is the most intelligent of all breeds.  Hence it doesn't surprise me at all how well trained Wolfe has got you.  

Do you have a longe line and whip?  If so, Wolfe would benefit from them.  You need to learn how to effectively use the whip to back up your commands.  the first step in training a horse is their basic commands.  If Wolfe refuses to behave or doesn't respond properly, then start her over and INSIST on obedience in everything you ask of her.  there is only one thing a horse wants to know from you, "are you the boss or am I?"  They really don't much care about the answer.  However, if the horse decides they're the boss, you are in serious trouble.  Wolfe is your boss.  This needs to change.

I don't intend to sound rude or mean, just being honest here.  If you are training this horse, your post indicates that it isn't going well.  You might consider the assistance of a professional.

• I get what you are saying, and I do have a professional trainer there, haha, and I do have a whip but, A lot of people say lunge her but she doesn't know how and the trainer I work with doesn't know why she doesn't, do you have any advise on that. But, how can I show her that I'm the boss? Thanks Though!