Quick Post

How old were you when you got your first horse..?

How old were you when you got your first horse..?
  • Hi? Sorry, I'm really new to the forums, and I looked around but I didn't think there was any other place to put this. Sorry!D:

Anyways, on to my question. :)

Next summer, my family is planning on buying me a horse. The thing is, a few of my horse related friends said I'm not ready to own one {I'm capable of riding a broke horse. I've been riding for around three years, I know, not a long time at all! But long enough to know the do-don'ts about horses.} I AM planning on leasing next summer also, just to get into the swing of things. I guess my question is, do you think I'm ready? I'm thirteen (yikes! Young, I know.D: Turning fourteen soon though!) and VERY responsible when it comes to horses. If anyone would like to see my riding, I can link you to a video.

The horse I would most likely get is a family horse, so one that I can jump on, yet one that isn't green. I realize that some people will say "Your too young!" or "Your too inexperienced!" but isn't the best way to GAIN experience to actually DO something? =/
    One more question- how old were YOU when you got first horse, and how long have you been riding?

Again, sorry for posting this on the wrong forum if it is. Also, sorry for my babbeling! Thank you all for reading and replying, if you choose to do so. :)

~ AppyPlease
  • I'm 13 and I've been riding since I was 4. I got my first horse when I was 9.
  • I got my first pony at 2.  But my first horse that was mine was when I was 12, but my dad had horses and I grew up around them.

I think leasing is a great way to start.  Look for an older horse (10 or over is great and don't be afraid of a horse in it's teens) that has been there and done that.  They tend to be less spooky, more sensible and willing.

Good Luck and welcome.
  • First, HI! 
    Second, I love your forum name!!  Is that any indication of what breed you prefer?  [':D']