Quick Post

Fence Me In - but just for light grazing please

Fence Me In - but just for light grazing please
  • Newbie here,

We corral our 2 horses (new owners to boot) but have adjacent pasture for daytime grazing... almost 4 acres. We currently keep our boys company while they happily munch away, but this is getting old quick.

Would appreciate any info and experiences (good & not-so-good) on SOLAR FENCE CHARGERS, tape vs. wire, easiest mounting, preferred brands, etc etc.

We live in a Home Owner Association and can only have temp fences.

Thanks,
    Arikaree

• I haven't used solar, so I can not tell you anything about those.  I have used a 10-mile battery operated charger as a back-up and it worked just fine.  That might be an option for you.

http://www.tractorsupply.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay_10551_10001_36186_-1______14345%7C14359%7C14362%7C14363%7C36186?listingPage=true&Special=false

Don't bother with tape - its junk & most of it breaks quickly.  I use a combination of electrified rope or just electrified wire.  My more pemanant pasture areas have a top strand of electrified rope and a lower strand of electrified wire.  My front pasture which is a bit more temporary uses pig-tail step-in poles and just electrified wire.  I can keep them out there all day & my horses stay in just fine - even my haflingers that figure out how to escape most anything.

These are the pig-tail posts I use with the electric wire.  I find these stand up better than any of the other temporary step-in posts I have tried.  Their down fall is that they only have a spot for one strand, but that is all I use in my front is one strand of wire.
    http://www.tractorsupply.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay_10551_10001_36055_______14345%7C14359%7C14362%7C14365%7C36055?listingPage=true&Special=false

Hope this helps.
  • Cat,

Thanks for the advice, the web links, and sharing your experiences. Appreciate your help.

best regards,
    Arikaree

[':)']