Quick Post

Hoof Cracks

Hoof Cracks
  • Hello, I've just recently gotten two horses, the first time the farrier came he told me that my Morgan mare Brown Sugar has weak hoof walls, he said it was fine just to keep an eye on it. This is my first time owning horses even though i have loved them all my life, so when i saw that one of her hoofs had a big hoof chip off of her hoof, i became worried. it doesn't seem to bother her though. but then i noticed while cleaning her hoof the frog ( or fog i allways get so confuzzled ;) ) had a wierd thing going on it looked like she had like a double layer of it..... like she chipped that too. is this normal and how do i fix it, also do you think supplements or a hoof oil would help this? another note it is winter here so i don't know if this is a factor.....
  • Sounds like your horse was shedding it's frog.  This is completely normal and does not require you to do a thing ':)'  Horses shed their frog 2x a year, you sometimes will see that they get raggy or so but do not pull on them as you can tear the fresh new layer underneath which will make your horse upset and hurt him.  

As for the chipped hoof...lots of horses get chips in there hooves, have your horse done regularly 6-8 weeks and since spring is coming they are going to grow like crazy.  Keep good care of your pasture since this is what your horse is walking around on, pick up stones and objects that could chip them if hit with the hoof...hope this help

• I'm gonna faint.  A nice farrier!  How wonderful! [':)']
  • We have a horse that had very bad hooves as well. He was lucky to keep shoes on for a month and the shoes were destroying his hooves. We made the decision to remove his shoes. This was a LONG PAINFUL process as his was 16 and had shoes on since he was 1.