Quick Post

Chronic Hoof Crack

Chronic Hoof Crack
  • Hello all. This is my first time asking anyone on the internet about it, I've talked to my barefoot trimmer, vet, and other horsey people about it. I have full faith in my barefoot guy, he is great and really knows his stuff, but the crack just isn't going away. Anyway, my horse (9 years old this year), has a chronic crack/chip in his front right hoof. It has been there since I can remember thinking about it (at least 4-5 years). It gets better, to a sense, in that the hoof grows out and it becomes slightly smaller, but it never completely goes away. It is always there in some sense in the same squarish way. I'm attaching a picture for those of you wondering. Does any one have any idea as to what to do with this? BTW, I refuse to put shoes on him. Horse's weren't meant to have shoes, so shoes will remain off. Thanks for your time.  
  • Do you feed anything like Black Oil Sunflower Seeds? I know Sr.Feed has stuff in it, too.
    That's odd, isn't it? Don't have any experience with that.  Steve Johnson is my trimmer. [':)']
  • No Black Oil Sunflower seeds to my knowledge. I feed timothy balance cubes (softened with water), about half a pound of Nutrena pellets, and a few supplements. My other horse gets the exact same things, so I cant imagine it being a nutritional issue. My farrier told me about Grapefruit seed extract, I've been using that, but we decided now to use the extract and then wrap the hoof. I'll be changing the bandages and cleaning the hoof every other day, and re-applying the extract. Just to see if that will help. The grapefruit see extract is supposed to be a natural bacterial killer, but it doesn't harm good tissue (such as the white line). He has had good luck with this before, with other horses with bad feet. So we will see if this works. 

• Welcome,
    I don't see what a natural bacterial killer is going to do?