Quick Post

Sally Mule Under Saddle!

Sally Mule Under Saddle!
  • I haven't been around here much lately - things just too busy this time of year for goofing off on the Net; but some of you may remember Sally Mule from last fall. My husband and I picked her up for $400 in October and have been absolutely in love with her ever since. We put a solid 30 days of groundwork on up to her first ride just before the winter weather hit, then ponied her along everywhere the horses went just to get her out into the world. We kept saying that we;d start her training again in the spring... then spring went by. And then I was waiting for my husband to start working with me on training her (we used a team approach the first time round and it worked well) but we've been working opposite shifts - he falls timber in the day and I work as a nurse at night - and so more time went by. SO I bit the bullet and committed to working with her every day. We moved on through the groundwork but I hit a wall with the snaffle bit. So I put a flat-nose hackamore on her (and also worked through some issues with bridling her) and started ground driving her. She took to that like a fish to water. Then I started getting on her back again and this time she was able to make the connection between moving her quarters off my legs and flexing/ moving her forehand off the reins. Also got a nice whoa and back up on her. Finally we moved into a combination bit with a snaffle mouthpiece and rope nose hackamore and curb chain to it, no shanks, and she has transitioned beautifully. Yesterday was our first ride outside of the roundpen, and it went pretty much without a hitch. Now we just need miles and wet saddle blankets! Pictures to follow.....