Quick Post

Help In need of training! (AGAIN)

Help In need of training! (AGAIN)
  • Hi, again so, let me tell you about my problem. I am a 13 year old trainer which a lot of you will jump to conclusions that i have no experience and suck, but the horse I own her name is Wolfe She is a Arab/Paint mix and I've been training her And started from normal basics with ground work and everything, and I've been ridding her a lot more lately and I ride her bareback and with a bit. But with her Bit she still doesn't listen Always tosses her head and today bolted. I don't know how to get her to truly listen to me. And usually she does really good but lately she's not been that good. How can I correct this behavior, I'm going to start free lunging her in our indoor arena with a lunge whip other wise she does nothing! But how can I correct behavior and Stop Bolting, (I do have a saddle for her it just doesn't fit!
  • I find jumping to conclusions leaves one falling into pits.  That said, I have met far more thirteen-year-olds who thought they were brilliant than actually have been.   

Bits and Bitting are one of the most basic of skills a trainer possesses.  There's a very delicate balance between under and over bitting any horse.  If you have a horse pushing through or completely ignoring a bit, then it's time to consider replacing the bit.  Severe is rarely the answer.  Often I find that one should step sideways to another mouth-piece rather than a stronger bit.  

As an example; I had a Hackney pony that was tossing his head about and refusing to listen to the bit.  I switched him from a French-Link Snaffle to a Mullen-mouthed Liverpool (cheek setting), smooth mouthed.  He went from a stronger to a milder bit and it resulted in more control and the end of the head tossing (in this case it was a comfort issue).