Quick Post

Not quite sure what to title this.....

Not quite sure what to title this.....
  • SO I got to go to the AQHA world show this past weekend which was amazing! It was my first horse show I have ever been to and I had an awesome, very horse savvy friend go with me to kind of act like my own personal tour guide and to answer the millions of questions I had. I got to see the finals in reining and it was one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen on horseback. I find it something that I wish and want to work towards in my life. That being said I was pretty much dreaming of my filly and I training to do reining, probably more for fun than anything else, but I was grounded by the words "but she's a halter horse". Lillie is an APHA three year old filly. Her sire is Dontcha Luv Magic and her dame is I Mighty Impressed (Yes, an Impressive bloodline. Don't make the face.) She is a beautiful sorrel overo and she is my baby (Well, one of them, anyways). I am new to horses, pedigrees, and disciplines so I feel pretty ignorant sometimes so I like to research things online. What I came across last night just made me feel sick so I am posting on here to kind of get an idea what people think. In my internet wanderings I have found that people think there is no room in the horse world for Halter horses and that they are a waste of time and money. People had some pretty strong opinions. I find it hard to believe that Halter horses are just throw away horses and that they have no career besides breeding past their second or third new years. Lillie is an extremely smart and athletic filly. She is at the point in her training where she could go any direction with her training and I believe she could be a good working cow horse but I don't want her label as a Halter horse to hinder her if it very well should. She is sound and has an amazing personality. She has a lot of spunk and seems to have a lot of cow sense. She moves very well and beautifully. What are some of your