Quick Post

First Time (Soon to Be) Horse owner

First Time (Soon to Be) Horse owner
  • Hi! I am hoping to acquire my first horse - He's a Bay Gelding Thoroughbred, 8 yrs old, fully trained, 16.1 hands, 1200lbs - and I'm sure it sounds silly, but I was wondering how to buy a saddle for him. There are a few place around me that sell saddles, but since it needs to fit him and be comfortable for me, how do I "try them on" him? I would have him trailered from his current stable to my stable, so should I stop and have him fitted during the haul? It's only 75 miles, so it's not a very far way, but if he's cranky from being tousled in a trailer, then I don't know how well that will go over either. I am a total newbiw when it comes to this, so any advice would be much appreciated!

Thank you!
  • It's a great idea to take him to the shop to get him fitted but I don't know if I'd do that on the way home from picking him up. That could be disaster unless you know him really well. Are you an English or Western rider?

• That's what I was afraid of too - I ride western trail  - I found a Kings Series saddle on horse.com, that I was hoping to find in store somewhere.  Are tack shops pretty lenient about exchanges for sizing?  I don't have my own trailer, so taking him somewhere to be fitted would be difficult after the initial move.

• Will you have him at a stable where you can place other people's saddles on him and get a feel for the measurements you should be looking for? There's a cool Aussie saddle co that lets you send a tracing - you take a wire and bend it over your horse's withers and make it the shape of his shoulder area. I'm sure there's more to it.