Quick Post

Hello from Florida

Hello from Florida
  • married-2 girls 1&5. I have always loved horses. There is just somthing about them. I am 24. I have had my 2 mares for about 1 year. So I am new to the horse would. Only get to ride about once a month cause of the kids.So ever time I get on its still a little scary! But i push trough it. I love them!My horses names are Lena&Jody.Lena is 7 & Jody is 17.I let my 5 year old ride lead line.That a little scary to me too. I am looking for lessons for her in perry FL. no one seems to do any of that around here. I would love to to talk to some of u.
  • HI!  Obviously you're taking it slow, so it wouldn't do any good to advise THAT! [':)']  Sounds like you have a good pair of horses.  How about pictures!! 
    I have grown boys (one's 16 but he thinks he's grown)
    4 horses - AGH!  Too many dogs and cats AND I started riding when I was about 12.  I got out of it for quite a while and I can't say enough about muscle memory.  I highly encourage you to do some walking around bareback if you trust your horse.  Do circles and turns and serpentines.  After you feel so totally at ease (and you've been sore and gotten over it) then do a little trotting.  I just think muscle memory will save your butt when it comes to riding.  Never too late! [':D']
  • Hmmmm...butt memory?  LOL  And, Hunter, here I always thought it was calluses or just wait for the bum to go numb.
  • I thought about setting up some barrels and learning to gain control of my horse. Just walking the pattern.Making her control her front end and back end.. I would love to start barrels. Me and my 5 year old girl(sarah) go out the the barrel shows we have here. My horse are good(I THINK). we just got to get know each other in the saddle.