Quick Post

Hoof Care Need Not Be Difficult

Hoof Care Need Not Be Difficult
  • Hello. I wanted to pass along personal some hoof care info for the group. I've been doing my horse's hooves for about three years now. She's a barefoot. I don't shoe. Anyway What I do is simply clip around her hooves (I clip to the sole) then file (again just to her sole) to a mustang roll. I'm not digging out the sole at all. There is a caveat, and that's that she spends most of her time in a dirt pen of hard, dry ground. This helps to keep her soles naturally worn down. I also do only minimal clipping of her frog, just enough to make filing the sides easier. Her trimmings come out to about three inches in the front each time and pretty flat in the back. It just seems to naturally work out right each time.  Her hooves are solid and strong (though maybe an expert could find issues) and she's happy.

I don't know that things might be different if she were on grass or sand or wet ground though.

I pass this on because I'm questioning the need to dig out her sole.
  • My natural trimmer, as far as I know, doesn't spend a lot of time digging out the sole.  In fact in my special needs boy he trims hoof walls down so he walks on his soles, which isn't optimum but it takes the pressure off the hoof walls.  The others have nice concave sole structure for the most part.  I'm happy to put my horses' feet in his hands because I don't have the back to do the work myself.  It's nice having a professional visit every 6 weeks and give me his opinion on my horses' condition.  Keeps me on my toes.
    If I could do it myself just as well and save the money I WOULD!!!  More power to ya!!!
  • That's pretty much what I do, too. In a dry climate such as this, the sole is as hard as concrete, and digging it out can be a major undertaking. I trim down the wall, and eventually the sole will begin to flake out on its own.