Quick Post

When should I get a horse?

When should I get a horse?
  • I have been riding for 3 weeks now. My coach said I have amazing talent and I was the best person se had ever taught(I got the rising trot on the first lesson and now I am off lead). On Thursday I am going on a trail ride with her. So my question is when do you think I am ready for a horse and what breed. Ask any questions in the comments. P.s I can saddle up, groom as well.
  • Okay, First of all, DO NOT get a horse when you have been riding for 3 weeks, because maybe on the 8th week you get a horse but get bored and never see the horse again. I've been riding for 8 years and just got my first 2 horses. I would take lessons for 6 months THEN LEASE  a horse for about 6 months THEN think about getting a horse, If you can do that then you are dedicated and probably won't get bored, A breed I would get is a quarter horse, depending on what you want I wouldn't get a young horse as a first horse, but a older horse, my mare is 6 but I've been working with her for about 2 years she is still green broke since I had to restart her, My gelding is 22 and fully trained, ALSO just because you can saddle up and groom DOES NOT MEAN ANYTHING not to be rude but its true, You also need to know a farrier, vet, teeth floater what shots your horse needs, depending on the breed what diseases they can get, you need to know if you are  financially able because a fully trained horse is about 2k, but you need to also need to know how much board will cost, you NEED a trailer, saddle, saddle blanket, and LOTS MORE DO NOT BUY A HORSE RIGHT NOW PLEASE

• Thank you, I will follow your advice

• Thank you for listening! I see too many people wanting to buy a horse after 1 week then they get it then they abandon it :( but anyway what discipline do you do?