Quick Post

New horse with a lot of issues..."Sigh"

New horse with a lot of issues..."Sigh"
  • Hi.  I'm new to this horse forum, but I've been breaking and training TBs and other horses for over 30 years.
    A lot of TBs come off the track thinking that a tight hold on the reins means GO!  So...unless someone has worked him to understand otherwise, it possible that you may be nervous and tightening up on the reins and mistakenly giving your horse a confused signal.
    Also, despite what many people think, TBs are typically very light in the mouth.  Again, if you feel comfortable enough to loosen up on the reins, does his head shaking and "tantrums" stop?
    If they do...Great.  Then on a semi-loose rein, get him going forward and then subtly start bringing his head down and around by shortening your rein length and getting better contact with his mouth.
    Just something to consider.
  • Oooh Impdreams, where ya been?? 
    I love the New Vocations site for working with OTTB & Stb's.  The bitting sessions are great advice, worked well with my Stb. 
  • [quote=Impdreams]

Hi.  I'm new to this horse forum, but I've been breaking and training TBs and other horses for over 30 years.
    A lot of TBs come off the track thinking that a tight hold on the reins means GO!  So...unless someone has worked him to understand otherwise, it possible that you may be nervous and tightening up on the reins and mistakenly giving your horse a confused signal.
    Also, despite what many people think, TBs are typically very light in the mouth.  Again, if you feel comfortable enough to loosen up on the reins, does his head shaking and "tantrums" stop?
    If they do...Great.  Then on a semi-loose rein, get him going forward and then subtly start bringing his head down and around by shortening your rein length and getting better contact with his mouth.
    Just something to consider.