Quick Post

Please read. Training beginning to end

Please read. Training beginning to end
  • Can I have some of the basics for ground training, ridden work, jumping training and gymnastic for the horse. I'm new to horses and id like some pointers on how to do these and do them properly. To eventually compete in dressage and jumping. I ride western right now though. I am a novice rider with a little bit trained horse in western. I have had several people say that dressage/ jumping would help me and my horse. Also I photos in my album. I just don't know anything about that type of stuff. I have poles and that I just want to start him right but I don't know how. Also I don't make enough to get lessons. I already clean stalls every Saturday to help get a job. do you know any websites that show correct riding skills and different ways to do things? Such as positioning, what the gait are likely to look like and advice on how to make a horse better at things. please answer.
  • crawl before you walk. Walk before you run. If you're trotting around, you can put ground poles down and get used to the horses gait and body motions going over. Just keep it at the trot. Don't rush.  If you elevate the pole, the horse will canter on the other side but bring him back to the trot. Stay in control. 

WEAR A HELMET!!!!!
  • i always wear a helmet. and thanks. how do you teach a horse to side step in the saddle. like to open gates or turn on lights lol?