Quick Post

Hock Hobbles

Hock Hobbles
  •   I came out to the stable today to a horrific sight.  A horse with major leg injuries and one of my riding buddies in an ambulance. From what I heard, she was using a set of "hock hobbles" on her AQHA western pleasure mare. Apparently, this did not go well.
      Does anyone know the why and how to concerning "hock hobbles?" I've been riding in eventing with my AQHA gelding for a few years, and have never even heard of this training method. I've seen some questionable methods used in training for AQHA western "pleasure" before, but nothing like this.
      These types of hobbles are offered in almost all tack shops. Some are even endorsed by a few Big Name Trainers. I never even knew of the existence of these.
      Any info? Thanks
  • All I've heard about them is that they are used to force a horse into a Western pleasure "frame", some people even connect them to the bit so the horse's mouth is yanked on with every step just to keep the head low.  [:'(]  Sometimes they are also used for breeding too(??), no idea why. 

Another stupid training gimmick by the sound of it.
  • [':o']Holy cow!  Here's an interesting site!!  I found hock hobbles under their list of gadgets NOT to use.
    http://www.sustainabledressage.com/tack/gadgets.php

I have to say there are many trainers I respect who hobble train their horses.  Not only is it convenient for a stop in the wilderness if you don't want to or can't tie your horse...he could just graze around the area ALSO it's a huge safety thing for a horse who could one day get tangled up in rope or fencing it just teaches them to stand still and not panic.  Hobbles have their place, imo.

Nothing like what's in the link.