Quick Post

Flex Trees

Flex Trees
  • Okay what's everyone opinions, and personal experience with them?

I've heard from other people that they have caused alot of problems with horse's backs and many many many other things. I've heard that if you are above a certain weight, flex trees are not for you.

What is your personal experience with them? Can you post pics of your horse being ridden in them?
    What brand of saddle do you use that has a flex tree in? Or what one have you tried.

Thanks a ton!
  • Sonny- I do not own a flex tree, but have ridden in a few and did not like them.  I just didn't like how they move.

Flex-trees and treeless saddles are not for beginner riders.  I have also heard about if you are above a certain weight you should not ride in one.

All that being said I have a few friends who use them, swear by them, and love them.
  • What exactly didn't you like about how they moved?

I'm not a beginner rider and what I mainly ride in is a bareback pad (just so I don't get my jeans dirty lol...but I can ride 100% bareback also no problems). The weight is more what I'm thinking of. I'm not fat...but I"m not skinny...I'm mediumish weight but not sure what weight the flex trees would recommend.

I have emailed the company of the saddle that I really want to get (can't afford though), and asked them if they have had any problems or complains with their flex tree that they use. I have not heard back yet, but hopefully I will soon. If I don't hear back from them in about a week or two, I'll call them.
  • Since you ride bareback it probably won't bother you.

I felt like I was feeling every single movement and felt like I lost focus on what I need to focus on.  I weigh 160 lbs  and felt like I was pounding the horses back.  One of my previous horses behaved like and @$$ when I rode him in the flex-tree and was fine with a regular saddle.

Again, that is just my opinion.
  • Thanks for your feedback!