Quick Post

I'm a new member

I'm a new member
  • Hello,
    I am 56 years old and have had a 28 year career as a licensed clinical social worker, I work in a college counseling center.  I've also been involved with horses since I was about 11.  I went to a school in Maryland called Potomic Horse Center when I was 18 and earned the horsemaster level of the USPC.  I ride english and western.  When I was younger I was involved in showing.  Now horses are my way of staying grounded.

I currently have 2 horses; a 9 year old paint named Pablo and a 25 year old appaloosa named Hershey.  I bought Hershey for my daughter when he was 15 and she learned to ride on him.  I bought Pablo when he was a weanling and I've trained him myself.  I ride Pablo with an austrailan saddle and an english bridle.  Hershey goes western or english.  I enjoy trail riding and just hanging out around the barn. 

I board these horses at a farm owned by a super nice family that also grows hay.  This past Christmas the owner's daughter got a horse and I have been helping her learn to ride and getting her horse going for her.  It's just the 3 horses on this farm and they have plenty of pasture, they love it.  They forage on pasture and we only give a handful of pellet food when we bring them in the barn.  The horses were on the pasture 24/7 and had run-in access to the barn.