Quick Post

whats the right bit?

whats the right bit?
  • Hi. My horse is an 18 yr old QH gelding. When I bought him he was neglected and ive been told he was an ex cow horse for the rodeos. Anyway, I have had him two years now, and rode him once. Hes A good boy but is afraid to leave the barn, yet the worst thing he did was dance in place. But now that he has put on a considerate amount of weight and feels good. I want to get him a bit that will not only help show him whos in control but also dont want to confuse him, or have something that will make him more nervous. I am going to have someone work with him for me just to get him back into the swing of things. So really need a good bit that I will be able to use :im a beginner, slight intermediate rider: I do know the basics.
    Thank you
  • I guess you don't know what was being used on him before and there is no telling if it worked with him or helped make him nervous about leaving the barn.

If possible find a person that has had horses for years and will let you try different bits, beginning with the less severe until you find one that has control of your horse without making him fearful of you taking a hold of the reins.  You will want the bit that gives you control with a light touch.  Most people who train will have a sizable collection of bits to choose from.

Good luck.
  • No. I have no idea what bit. And I believe the bit he was on was an eggbutt snaffle..but it got stolen and am not positive. This is the bit im looking for. What do you guys think? It is the 14th bit down........
  • I would prob have someone work with him maybe a trainer that can get him on the right track again work with him with a bit get him solf again.......or find someone that gasworked with horses that can work him and get him incontrol for you....