Quick Post

fly predators

fly predators
  • ever hear of these? i am new to the horse stuff and have read different reviews and  articles on fly predators. from  what i gather they are some tiny insects that come in packages that are a natural fly predator. you sprinkle these around the pasture,stable or barn-what have you on the horses poop. then in a short while the number of flies in the area are supposed to be greatly reduced or pretty well eliminated. so is any one here familar with these fly predators?  there may be some by different names. also i wonder if there could be some danger either to the horse or the envioroment from such a product?
    if the reviews i read are true it seems like they would work wonders. i dont know how many different fly sprays,lotions and concoctions that  i tried just last summer alone. i hate flys bothering my horse.they aggrivate the horses awful and i absolutely hate them on my horse.seems she is constantly swishing her tail and stomping her feet dispite whatever i use on her.
    so i was wondering if any one here  knows about this product or has tried them or something else that could help.
    my sister works in a store and says she has a customer who buys alot of pine sol  cleaner every summer. said he uses that on his horse/s for  a fly repellant. never given that a try  yet. thanks annie.
  • We use them and get them sent to us automatically once a month. However, this is our first year taking care of our own horses so cannot make a judgement. We have a neighbor who gets them every year, so I am encouraged.

So far, we have not seen many flies. It is still early though. The gnats have been the big problem but they usually don't stay but for 2-3 weeks.

We attempt to keep the barn clean as that was a HUGE problem where we use to board, nasty nasty nasty stalls and a huge fly problem.