Quick Post

Thrush?

Thrush?
  • Alright guys I'm a newbie here, but I need some help. I just got a mare who had super long feet, they obviously hadn't been trimmed in a long time, well my farrier took it all off at once, I wish he hadn't but can't change that now, but he said she has bacteria between her bulbs, and I'm thinking gap there at the heel side of the frog. I'm assuming he is talking about something along the lines of thrush when he says "bacteria" so I want to start treating it, he said apple cider vinegar, bleach solution, or a thrush treatment you can get at feed stores. But I have read this morning that bleach solution can actually inhibit grow of healthy frog tissue, and basically she has none left... but I just want to treat her with something that will help her feet get better as soon as they can, I also read about soaks and a treatment called white lightning. I guess I'm just confused as to which way to go about this. I know every horse is different, but for the majority I guess I'm just wondering what your experiences are and how you have gotten results. Thanks in advance. LinaeW
  • [quote=linaew]