Quick Post

Feeding Underweight Pregnant Pony Mare

Feeding Underweight Pregnant Pony Mare
  • I am purchasing a underweight pony mare. She is 16 years old, about 12 hands palomino. Picking her up tomorrow. I need feeding advice. Her owner had her just on hay, so she lost a lot of weight. A horse trader bought traded some other horse for the little mare. I contacted him about her. His plans were to take her in her baby to auction. I decided I wanted to give her a shot.

I have very little experience with breeding. Have had 2 other foals and everything went well but their moms were in our care from beginning.

Anyway she is pretty underweight. What is the best route to go has for has feeding goes? She will have unlimited good quality coastal hay, mineral block. Trying to figure out what kind of grain ect. Any advice on her feeding would be greatly appreciated!
  • [quote=emnhorserider]

I am purchasing a underweight pony mare. She is 16 years old, about 12 hands palomino. Picking her up tomorrow. I need feeding advice. Her owner had her just on hay, so she lost a lot of weight. A horse trader bought traded some other horse for the little mare. I contacted him about her. His plans were to take her in her baby to auction. I decided I wanted to give her a shot.

I have very little experience with breeding. Have had 2 other foals and everything went well but their moms were in our care from beginning.

Anyway she is pretty underweight. What is the best route to go has for has feeding goes? She will have unlimited good quality coastal hay, mineral block. Trying to figure out what kind of grain ect. Any advice on her feeding would be greatly appreciated!