Quick Post

Waffles the Belgian Mare

Waffles the Belgian Mare
  • I recently bought an AMAZING belgian mare. She's broke to ride and broke to drive. My question is, she has a brand on the left hind quarter the kind looks like (-D1), how do I find the brand inspector for my state and is it possible to have her registered??? Please help!
  • I don't know if your state as a brand inspector, I know mine doesn't but you can connect your local sheriff for that. and you could also connect the Belgian breed association for that as well. But might be a good idea since the sheriff will only have the brands in your state and the association will only have information if that brand is registered with a owner or breeder. 
  • Sorry.... seeing Waffle and Belgian in the same title is killing me... I'm starved!!! [:-]
  •   Missouri is not a brand state like out west where brands are registered and fees paid to the state for exclusive use.  I have seem that type of brand used on large farms as a way of permantently identifing animals.  It can be very hard to distinguish like foals once they are off their dams.  D-l could simly mean "D"s foal 2001, 4th foal 2001 or something along those lines.  Missouri Draft Horse and Mule Association does have a website up but don't expect a timely response.

She's not from a large hitch farm as they would of docked her tail at birth.  It's pretty obvious that she is PB but her sire and dam could of been grade as well.
  • [quote=2manyhorses]

Missouri is not a brand state like out west where brands are registered and fees paid to the state for exclusive use.  I have seem that type of brand used on large farms as a way of permantently identifing animals.  It can be very hard to distinguish like foals once they are off their dams.  D-l could simly mean "D"s foal 2001, 4th foal 2001 or something along those lines.  Missouri Draft Horse and Mule Association does have a website up but don't expect a timely response.